HCL Notes 11 - The Eclipse log directory grows way too big

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last week I found a problem on my

HCL Notes 11,

 

because my disc has been suddenly full, just 50GB in 2 days? Without any video editing!

My Mac has been found the biggest directories quickly, and wow: My Notes 11 have 48GB of log files!

 

 

Maybe there was a crash, I don't remember very well. 

The huge *.dmp-files are crash dump-files, that are being created in certain situations. 

 

So the approach for me, is to disable the generating of dump files. If I'd like to analyze a problem I can always re-enable the java debugging.

 

Just adding the following line to the jvm.properties file: vmarg.no_dump=-Xdump:system:none

On Windows: …\Notes\framework\rcp\deploy

On Mac you’ll find it here: …/Applications/HCL Notes.app/Contents/MacOS/rcp/deploy

 

 

After 5 days and a crash, the logfiles are not bigger then 3 MB.

 

 

I'm curious if there will be a fix in Notes 11.0.1.